Zum Inhalt springen

Warenkorb

Dein Warenkorb ist leer

Macallan 18 Jahre Single Malt Scotch Whisky aus dem Jahr 1989 (30 ml Dram)


Angebot$36.00
Nicht auf Lager

Über dieses Dram

Cheaper By The Dram teilt die Kosten für teure Whiskys zwischen den Kunden auf, indem die Flaschen in Drams aufgeteilt werden.

Der Whisky in Cheaper by the Dram NO.15 wurde 1989 in der Macallan-Brennerei destilliert. Er reifte 18 Jahre, bevor er im Rahmen einer Privatabfüllung für „Sandy MacFarlane“ abgefüllt wurde.

Der aktuelle Verkaufspreis einer 700-ml-Flasche beträgt 825 £.

Über diesen Whisky

Destilliert: Macallan Distillery

Region: Speyside

Abgefüllt von: Sandy MacFarlane

Typ: Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Alter: 18 Jahre alt

Abgefüllt: 1989

Dram-Größe: 30 ml Miniatur

Alkoholgehalt: 56 %

Über diesen Macallan Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Der vom Dram NO.15 zu Cheaper dekantierte Whisky wurde 1989 in der Macallan-Brennerei destilliert. Er reifte 18 Jahre, bevor er im Rahmen einer Privatabfüllung für „Sandy MacFarlane“ mit 56 % abgefüllt wurde.

Diese Flasche wurde kürzlich für 300 £ versteigert, während offizielle 18 Jahre alte Abfüllungen der Macallan-Destillerie aus dem Jahr 1989 bei einer Auktion für 700 bis 900 £ versteigert werden und für über 1.600 £ im Einzelhandel erhältlich sind.

Der Single Malt Whisky in CBTD NO.15 wurde in einem Jahr destilliert, in dem die Berliner Mauer fiel, die Regierung der britischen Premierministerin Margaret Thatcher die unpopuläre Kopfsteuer einführte, inmitten weit verbreiteter Proteste und der Erstveröffentlichung des Bestsellers Nintendo Game Boy.

Die Macallan-Brennerei

Die in der Speyside-Region gelegene Macallan-Brennerei wurde 1824 erstmals gesetzlich an Alexander Reid lizenziert. Ursprünglich war sie eine der Farmbrennereien von Speyside, am Standort Macallan waren zuvor nicht lizenzierte Whisky-Destillierapparate in Betrieb. Im Jahr 1868 wurde Macallan von James Stuart übernommen, der die Brennerei wiederaufbaute. 1892 endete sein Besitz jedoch, als Macallan an Roderick Kemp verkauft wurde, der zuvor die Talisker-Brennerei besaß. Kemps Nachfolger behielten das Eigentum bis 1996, als Macallan von der Edrington Group übernommen wurde. Diese Eigentümerwechsel sorgten dafür, dass Macallan weiter expandierte, von der ursprünglichen Anlage mit zwei Destillierapparaten in einem Holzschuppen bis zu insgesamt einundzwanzig Destillierapparaten im Jahr 1975. Wie bei praktisch jeder schottischen Brennerei wurde Macallan traditionell als Malz zum Mischen verwendet, obwohl auch als … Als Folge eines Abschwungs auf dem Blended-Whisky-Markt in den 1980er Jahren verlagerte sich Macallans Fokus auf die wachsende Nachfrage nach Single Malts. Durch die Entscheidung, die Malzmischungen der Brennerei ausschließlich in ehemaligen Sherryfässern zu reifen, war Macallan die erste Brennerei, die „maßgeschneiderte Fässer“ herstellte, indem sie die Bäume auswählte, aus denen das Fassholz gewonnen wurde, und den Fassverarbeitungsprozess sowie den zum Würzen verwendeten Oloroso-Sherry spezifizierte. Macallans Bemühungen, maßgeschneiderte Abfüllungen herzustellen, haben in jüngerer Zeit zu einer stärkeren Konzentration auf Flaschen für den Luxus-Whisky-Markt geführt, darunter 50 und 60 Jahre alte Macallan-Dekanter und die Vintage-Reihe Fine & Rare mit Abfüllungen, die bis ins Jahr 1926 zurückreichen.

Dieser 1989 destillierte Macallan Single Cask-Ausdruck reifte 18 Jahre lang, bevor er in einer privaten Abfüllung in Fassstärke abgefüllt wurde. Auch wenn die Details dieses Macallan etwas rätselhaft sind, trägt das vordere Etikett den Namen Sandy MacFarlane, möglicherweise der Besitzer des Fasses oder die Person, für die das Fass abgefüllt wurde. Das hintere Etikett erzählt die Geschichte des Fasses selbst: Es trägt den Spitznamen „Sandy Macallan“ und wurde 1989 in Craigellachie, dem Standort der Macallan-Brennerei, geboren (oder destilliert). Anschließend wurde es von einem neuen Besitzer nach Ben Nevis verlegt, wo es 18 Jahre lang reifte. In der ironischen Beschreibung heißt es weiter, dass der Whisky „dazu bestimmt war, ein Single Malt zu bleiben und nicht zu einem Blend beizutragen“, und beschreibt, dass „Sandy Macallan“ jedes Jahr Besuch von den Engeln erhielt, eine Anspielung auf den „Anteil der Engel“. Flüssigkeitsmenge, die während der Reifung aus dem Fass verdunstet. Da Macallan vor der Einführung der „Fine Oak“-Reihe im Jahr 2004 lange dafür bekannt war, für die Reifung ausschließlich ehemalige Sherryfässer zu verwenden, wird dieser Vintage-Dram dem Trinker wahrscheinlich einen Vorgeschmack auf den traditionellen, von Sherry dominierten Malzausdruck und Reifungsstil der Brennerei geben.

Macallan 18 year old Single Malt Scotch whisky from 1989 (30ml dram)

£30

About This Dram

Cheaper By The Dram shares the cost of expensive whiskies between customers by splitting bottles into drams.

The whisky in Cheaper by the Dram NO.15 was distilled in 1989 at the Macallan distillery. It was matured for 18 years before it was bottled as part of a private bottling for ‘Sandy MacFarlane.’

The current retail price of a 700ml bottle is £825.

About This Whisky

Distilled: Macallan Distillery

Region: Speyside

Bottled By: Sandy MacFarlane

Type: Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Age: 18 Year Old

Bottled: 1989

Dram Size: 30ml miniature

Alcohol by Volume: 56%

About this Macallan Single Malt Scotch Whisky

The whisky decanted into Cheaper by the Dram NO.15 was distilled in 1989 at the Macallan distillery. It was matured for 18 years before it was bottled at 56% as part of a private bottling for ‘Sandy MacFarlane.’

This bottle recently went at auction for £300, whereas official Macallan distillery 18 year old bottlings from 1989 go for £700-£900 at auction and retail at over £1,600.

The single malt whisky in CBTD NO.15 was distilled in a year which saw the fall of the Berlin Wall, UK Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher’s government introduce the unpopular Poll Tax amid widespread protests and the first release of the bestselling Nintendo Game Boy.

The Macallan distillery

Located in the Speyside region the Macallan distillery was first legally licenced to Alexander Reid in 1824. Originally one of Speyside’s farm distilleries, previously unlicensed whisky stills had operated at the Macallan site. In 1868 Macallan was taken over by James Stuart who rebuilt the distillery plant, although in 1892 his ownership ended when Macallan was sold to Roderick Kemp who had formerly owned the Talisker distillery. Kemp’s successors retained ownership until 1996 when Macallan was taken over by the Edrington Group. These changes in ownership have ensured Macallan’s continued expansion, from the original plant housing two stills in a wooden shed to a total of twenty-one stills by 1975. As with virtually every Scottish distillery, Macallan was traditionally used as a malt for blending although as result of a downturn in the blended whisky market in the 1980s Macallan’s focus shifted to the emerging demand for single malts. A decision to mature the distillery’s maltings exclusively in ex-sherry casks saw Macallan become the first distillery to create ‘bespoke casks’, selecting the trees to provide barrel timber and specifying the coopering process and oloroso sherry used for seasoning. Macallan’s efforts to produce bespoke expressions has more recently led to a greater emphasis on bottles for the luxury whisky market, including 50- and 60-year aged Macallan decanters and the Fine & Rare vintage range with expressions which date back to 1926.

This 1989 distilled Macallan single cask expression was matured for 18 years before being bottled at cask strength in a private bottling. Although the details of this Macallan are a little mysterious the front label bears the name Sandy MacFarlane, possibly the cask’s owner or the person for whom the cask was bottled. The rear label tells the story of the cask itself: nicknamed ‘Sandy Macallan’ it was born (or distilled) in 1989 at Craigellachie, which is the location of the Macallan distillery. It was then moved by a new owner to Ben Nevis where it matured for 18 years. The tongue in cheek description goes on to say how the whisky was ‘destined to remain a single malt rather than contributing to a blend’ and describes ‘Sandy Macallan’ received an annual visit from the angels, a reference to the ‘angels share’ the amount of liquid which evaporates from the cask during maturation. As Macallan was long renowned for exclusively using ex-sherry casks for maturation before the introduction of the ‘Fine Oak’ range in 2004, this vintage dram will likely give the drinker a taste of the distillery’s traditional sherry dominant malt expression and maturation style.

We ship (almost!) worldwide

We can deliver to Australia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Canada (Alberta), China, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Guernsey, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jersey, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Philippines, Poland, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Taiwan, UAE, UK, US (certain states*), and Vietnam.

*US states we can currently ship to include: Alaska, California, District of Columbia, Louisiana, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Virginia, Wyoming, Vermont, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Texas, and Florida.

How much is shipping?

Shipping charges are calculated during checkout, depending on where you live and how many bottles you’re buying.

What you need to know about taxes

All alcoholic products sold by TopWhiskies are sold subject to UK alcohol tax, which is already included in the price.

UK sales are subject to VAT (currently 20%), which is included in the price. Sales outside of the UK are not subject to this tax, and international prices do not include it.

We use a specialist US shipper who sorts out US taxes. These costs are factored into the US shipping charges. So shipping may look pricey, but remember it covers your taxes as well.

For all other territories, including those in Europe, please note: your order could be subject to local sales taxes and duties upon arrival in the destination country. All additional charges are the responsibility of the recipient. As customs policies vary widely from country to country, TopWhiskies has no control over these charges, so you should contact your local customs office for further information. If you refuse to pay any import duties and taxes, this could result in the goods being destroyed by customs or being returned back to us - any refund offered would include a deduction of our costs. 

Need help?

For help, or custom orders, please contact Ed on email ed@topwhiskies.com

You may also like